Hako’s Winter 2014 Anime Preview

Header

Not sure what to watch next season?  Want a secondary opinion on a show’s synopsis?  HakoToshokan is here for you!

Keep in mind the comments I make are based on story synopsis found at http://anichart.net/winter and impressions from any available promotional videos (PVs).

Also, don’t forget that the following shows are continuing into the Winter season:

 

Golden Time

Kill la Kill

Kuroko no Basket 2

Log Horizon

Magi

Nagi no Asukara

Phi Brain S3

Pokemon XY

Samurai Flamenco

Strike the Blood

Tokyo Ravens

Yowamushi Pedal

 

Buddy Complex

Buddy Complex

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_Y5PEEmwQw

Sunrise’s mecha anime of the season, Buddy Complex utilizes the cliché “normal boy gets reeled into piloting a mobile suit.”  Wait, isn’t that like EVERY mecha show?   Oh well.  I’m still going to watch this, primarily for the fact that I enjoy mecha series.  I am always interested to see what can be done that Sunrise hasn’t already done with Gundam.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Y

Chuuni S2

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dlHu3k5fEeY

Continuing where the first season (and the Christmas OVA) left off, Season 2 pins the odd couple of Yuuta and Rikka into a predicament where they have to live together.  Keeping that a secret will be entertainment in itself.  Furthermore, a new(old) girl enters the fray, as she is the one who initially transformed Yuuta into a Chuuni back in middle school.  Love triangle? That’s what we need to solidify Yuuta and Rika’s relationship!

Pilot Treatment?:  No need.

Watching further? Y

D-Frag

D-Frag!

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0NzWpD4Hvg

I’ve actually had the manga for this on my backlog for a long while.  It looks to be a fun, quirky comedy featuring a myriad of fun characters.  However, I get the feeling I’m not going to enjoy the anime as much as I would the manga.  In addition, I’m not entirely too big a fan of the studio behind it, BrainsBase.  If you’re looking for a good comedy this season, this might be your thing.  SO at least check out the first episode.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? N

Silver Spoon S2

Silver Spoon 2nd Season

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQ5jgH36ph4

Continuing where season one left off, Silver Spoon returns with its agricultural antics.  If you enjoyed the first season, the manga itself, or just want something with a neat and different subject matter, I definitely recommend picking up this show (and maybe even Segway into reading the manga).  Just like I have a soft spot for classical music, any series that sort of teaches you things regarding food and the science of food/farming have a place on my watching lineup.

Pilot Treatment?:  No need.

Watching further? Y

Hamatora The Animation

Hamatora The Animation

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJw7i2JBVTs

Set in 2014 Yokohama, a bunch of eccentric people are gifted with these cool abilities… cool.  From the PV linked above, I get this feeling of a combination of Durarara! And Devil Survivor in its style.  This seems like something worth checking out if you were a fan of those series.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Likely.

Hoozuki no Reitetsu

Hoozuki no Reitetsu

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoRt7T4eOdU

Hoozuki no Reitetsu is a comedy that will play up the idea of characterizing Japanese mythology.  While this is not necessarily anything new, the main character, Hoozuki, is in a position where he must be a stern facilitator in aide of his employer, the King of Hell.  Most of the fun to be drawn from this series is likely to be the wacky interactions other characters place upon the calm and collected Hoozuki.  As much as I like mythology, I don’t think I will pick this one up.

Pilot Treatment?:  N

Watching further? N

Inari Konkon

Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F26Yjm5-qWA

Inari is a romance-comedy following a fool of a heroine that is blessed by a Fox god in return for her kindness.  Now, two things are drawing me to this show right now, based on the PV:  May’n doing the OP and the character design of the Fox God is alluring.  I’m going to be giving this one a shot.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y/N

Watching further? Maybe.

Mahou Sensou

Mahou Sensou

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36HS3wkTPHI

High school kids with magical powers and apparently there is some war between them all going on.  Based on the light novel of the same name, I am curious as to how this story differs from other series like it.  Light novel adaptations tend to have –something- going for them, so it is worth a shot.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe.

Maken-ki S2

Maken-Ki! Two

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gi7ou0RQ-4

I didn’t watch the first season.  I feel like I’ve long outgrown ecchi-heavy series.  I mean, I should just watch hentai instead if that is what I want.  And don’t you even say that hentai doesn’t have good story, because Tentacle & Witches was very good! Lol  Anyways, I won’t be watching Maken-ki2, but if you loved the first season, by all means, I hope you enjoy the second.

Pilot Treatment?:  N

Watching further? N

Mikakunin

Mikakunin de Shinkoukei

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5F14JWnYSwM

Mikakunin actually surprises me with its premise.  Instead of the main character being some random, good-for-nothing guy that suddenly gets a harem living in his home, we have a heroine who is suddenly told she has a fiancé and is forced to live with him AND his little sister.  Hilarity ensues, might as well see if this is worth checking out.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching  further? Maybe.

Nisekoi

Nisekoi

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MImaD8AbGUE

Nisekoi is one of my favorite running rom-com manga right now.  Put SHAFT behind it, have Hanazawa Kana voice Onodera, AND have ClariS do the Opening theme… you automatically have my attention.  The series is really dumb and predictable as far as rom-com standards go, but the characters’ personalities are really what make this so much fun to read.  Pin Nisekoi down as a definite watch in my book.

Pilot Treatment?:  No need.

Watching further? Y

Nobunaga the Fool

Nobunaga the Fool

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARFSndmskA8

In an absurdly interesting plot, Satelight brings us a new kind of tale focused on the historic Oda Nobunaga.  Based on what I’ve read and seen of this show, it is a fantasy take beyond mere ancient mythology.  Separating the Eastern and Western cultures into two worlds constantly at war?  “Sacred” weapons only able to be wielded by chosen ones?  It is about time we got a Nobunaga story that isn’t set in the Warring States era or modern Japan!

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Y

Nobunagun

Nobunagun

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DS-pXa8bzE

Weapons infused with the spirits of historical figures, eh?  And our heroine has the power of Nobunaga?  There really should be some kind of rule somewhere that states two or more anime with similar subject matter shouldn’t air at the same time.  Not that this or the previous entry deserve to be axed.  Whatever.  Ever since “Severing Crime Edge,” I’ve become interested with “possessed weapons.”  There is a sense of mystery and creativity that can be drawn out from that type of weapon design.  I probably might drop this partway through, but it definitely deserves at least a good look.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe

Noragami

Noragami

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpFjMtWTmsY

Studio Bones brings something cool and likable to many once again with Noragami.  It has a slight Blue Exorcist kind of feel to it, where it knows exactly when to be fun and when to be serious.  If you like the paranormal theme, this might be the primary show for you that is even worth recommending to first-time anime watchers.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe.

Nourin

No-Rin

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCVLUg4EgoM

Unlike the earlier mentioned Agriculture School anime (Gin no Saji/Silver Spoon), No-rin looks like it will primarily focus on the character relationships as the main character, Hata Kosaku, attempts to get to know the former Idol of his dreams, Kinoshita Ringo, A.K.A Kusakabe Yuka.  But that doesn’t mean this won’t be a fun watch.  To be honest, I too am curious as to why a girl would give up being an Idol to go to Agriculture school.  Going to call it now that the reason is either family related, or there is some childhood promise somewhere.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe.

Saikin

Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga.

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8Utr9UvNXI

Tell you the truth, I was put off as soon as I saw this long-ass title with “imouto” in it.  The story is all kind of dumb as well: a younger step-sister gets possessed by a female ghost and the only way for her to “move on” is to get the step-brother to fall in love with her.  Sounds like a formula for appeasing those imouto-fanatics out there.  Not that I don’t like the genre, but this plot doesn’t have me going “I gotta watch this!”

Pilot Treatment?:  N

Watching further? N

Saki

Saki: Zenkoku-hen

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NIAMSsxdy4I

Chances are that if you are watching Saki this season, you already know the buzz and why it is totes worth watching.  But if you are not one of the cool kids, here is how you can be: Watch/read Saki.  If you are even remotely interested in Mahjong (the real kind, not that matching pictures crap) or like seeing tabletop games given the extreme talent sports treatment, this is a series for you.

Pilot Treatment?:  No need.

Watching further? Y

Sakura Trick

Sakura Trick

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pEugtAkxtzg

Ok, so two girls that both attend a high school that will be shut down by the time they graduate decide to do something special.  Understandable.  Wait, but that something special is a KISS?!  My Yuri senses are tingling and now you have my attention, Studio Deen.  Now, this isn’t just me being a guy and all.  I very much enjoyed shows like Strawberry Panic and Maria-sama ga Miteru.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe.

Seitokai

Seitokai Yakuindomo * (Season 2)

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rmNbXCRdbs

The fan-favorite, Seitokai Yakuindomo, returns for a second season.  I tried watching the first season, but quickly grew bored of it.  The big appeal is the quirky antics between the members of the student council, comprised of 1 male and the rest female.  I’m sure you can guess how hilarity may ensue from there.  If you’re watching this second season, you’re in the know and enjoyed the first.  I’d otherwise give this a pass.

Pilot Treatment?:  N

Watching further? N

Sekai Seifuku

Sekai Seifuku: Bouryaku no Zvezda

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qzmUFL1vNs

That really helps… there is next to nothing known about the plot for this show.  Based on the PV linked above, I’m already kind of put off by the voice cast.  Something about squeaky loli voices don’t mix well for me.  BUT, I am always for new original TV anime that have the possibility of booming into something more.  So I intend to check this out.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe

Super Sonico

SoniAni: Super Sonico The Animation

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tx7yTXQb6Kk

Based on the Nitroplus mascot character of the same name, Super Sonico, this TV anime adaptation seeks to elaborate more on the young girl’s life as a college student, model, and musician.  Personally, I’m not sure about how riding on the popularity of a character to be something worth animating may be worth it.  I’m going to check this out for the hell of it.  Plus, I like the studio, White Fox, and their work.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Likely not.

Space Dandy

Space Dandy

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=woO8s-1P3xg

In what seems to be the absolute favorite for the season, the Space Sci-fi adventure of Space Dandy is expected to be all kinds of wacky intergalactic fun.  If you don’t want to at least see what this show is all about after seeing the PV, I don’t know what is wrong with you.

Also, it seems that Space Dandy will be simulcast premiered in English on Toonami.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Y

Strange

Strange+

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aAZ6kSyUf-E

Ok, I thought this blue-haired kid was a girl a first.  You mean to tell me that is a boy wearing shorts that short?  Japan, why?  Anyways, the plot doesn’t really have me too interested on what it has to offer.  Looks to be a comedy with its own circumstances in line.  Frankly, not interested.

Pilot Treatment?:  N

Watching further? N

Toaru

Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=di7MujUMMRw

Based on the light novel of the same title, “Love Song for a Certain Pilot,” is about a young man that lost it all, but learns what really matters through meeting other people.  Almost sounds like a “Kino no Tabi” sort of deal.  This might be worth checking out for what may be a more serious-toned series of the season.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe

Wake up

Wake Up. Girls!

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0kfXqKMWcw

If you’ve followed me for long, you know that I absolutely love Idol anime.  At first glance, Wake Up Girls! Looked like it was going to be an often copied “cute girls doing cute things in a cute club” kind of deal.  After actually reading the synopsis and seeing PV, I’m eager to see what kind of show these girls will put up on-stage.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe.

Witchcraft

WitchCraft Works

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pq4fPH-It5g

I’m not entirely sure why, but I stopped reading WitchCraft Works at some point.  With luck, the start of the anime will get me eager to read it again, as I always enjoy seeing series like this one.  Better yet, it has a useless hero that wants to try and be better, but gets princess carried often.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Maybe

Wizard

Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kxx2pnBKHes

Co-existence stories always excite me, especially world where magic intertwines with common science and technology.  That said, I have a feeling that I will definitely enjoy this “detective drama” anime that is surrounded by such a world and even uses magic to their advantage.

Pilot Treatment?:  Y

Watching further? Y

ZX

Z/X IGNITION

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLG4HRDfiFM

Alright, NIS, I buy your JRPGs for when I want to play video games.  But I’m still skeptical about your anime biz.  It looks like this is an anime adaptation of your card game turned video game turned manga, now turned anime.  As cool as that sounds, I think I will pass.

Pilot Treatment?:  N

Watching further? N

4 Comments

Filed under Previews

4 responses to “Hako’s Winter 2014 Anime Preview

  1. zztop

    Interesting choices you have for Winter 2014, hako!! ;D

    Did you get my post #3 in Kakumeiki Valvrave 24, btw?
    Will you consider catching up on the 2 2-cour shows I mentioned there?

    • Gah, sorry. I meant to respond to that. Unfortunately, I do not think I will have the time to get around to those series. I already have my hands full working on my artist portfolio. I thank you for the suggestions though and I will consider them should I find time in the future. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Nhan-Fiction and commented:
    >^..^<

Leave a Reply

